Wheeler Soil and Water Conservation District Annual Meeting and Presentation of the 2020-2021 Annual Report and Audit will be held

> Wednesday, December 8, 2021 at 6:00 PM Spray Grange Hall 807 Winlock Street Spray, Oregon 97874

Please RSVP by December 2nd to administration@wheelerswcd.org or 541.468.2990

District Formation and Purpose

The Wheeler Soil and Water Conservation District was formed December 3, 1963 under Oregon State Statute 568 and the Secretary of State issued a Certificate of Organization on December 10, 1963. The District encompasses all of the lands within the legal boundaries of Wheeler County.

The Wheeler Soil and Water Conservation District takes the lead in soil and water conservation throughout Wheeler County by working with urban and rural property owners, operators, public officials, various state and federal agencies, and private organizations. The mission of the District is "To maximize economic and environmental watershed values for Wheeler County residents by developing, conserving, and protecting water, soil, plant structures, and other natural resources."

The Wheeler Soil and Water Conservation Board of Directors consist of five locally elected zone directors, two locally elected at-large directors, two appointed non-voting associate directors, and one non-voting appointed director emeritus – all of which are landowners or managers and residents of Wheeler County. The seven voting position serve four-year terms and are elected by the electorate of Wheeler County at the November General Election, which is held during evennumbered years, while associate director and director emeritus positions serve two-year terms and are appointed in January of odd-numbered years. All positions of the Board serve on a volunteer basis without pay to help administer conservation programs and oversee operations of the District.

The Board of Directors meet regularly on the last Thursday of each month. Please contact the District office for time and location of these meetings. The public is encouraged to attend.

Wheeler Soil and Water Conservation District

Directors and Officers

Zone 1: Dave Hunt, Co-Secretary/Treasurer

Zone 2: Anna Thomas

Zone 3: Jason Davis, Co-Secretary/Treasurer Zone 4: Kale Haberman, Co-Secretary/Treasurer

Zone 5: Wayne Lindquist

At Large 1: Jim Bob Collins, Vice-Chair At Large 2: Jeremiah Holmes, Chair Associate Director: Amy Derby Associate Director: Rob Wade

Director Emeritus: Ted Molinari

Mid John Day-Bridge Creek Watershed Council

Watershed Coordinator: Debbi Bunch

Staff

District Manager: Randy Williams Office Manager: Cassi Newton

Conservation Technician I: Brooke Moore Conservation Technician I: Daniel Goodell

Natural Resources Conservation Service

District Conservationist: DelRae Ferguson Range Conservationist: Jessica Jones Basin Team Leader: Jay Gibbs